Kurt Schwitters, To Anna Flower

Cover of Kurt Schwitters' artists book 'Anna Blume. Dichtungen.' (1919)

My translation of Kurt Schwitters’ An Anna Blume

To Anna Flower

O, you beloved of my twenty seven senses, I love ya!
– You your to you for you, I for you, you for me. – We?
That does not (incidentally) belong here.
Who are you, uncounted wench? You are – are you? –
People say you could be – let them talk, they
don’t know their arse from their elbow.
You wear your hat on your feet and wander onto
your hands, on your hands you wander.
Hi to your red dresses sawn into white folds. Red
I love Anna Flower, red I love for you! – You your
to you for you, I for you, you for me, –
We?
That (incidentally) belongs in the cold fire.
Red Flower, red Anna Flower, what are the people saying?
Million dollar question: 1. Anna Flower is cuckoo.
2. Anna Flower is red.
3. What colour is the cuckoo?
Blue is the colour of your yellow hair.
Red is the cooing of your green cuckoo.
You plain girl in everyday dress, you dear green
creature, I love ya! – You your to you for you, I for you, you for me. –
We?
That belongs (incidentally) in the fire box.
Anna Flower! Anna, a-n-n-a I trickle your name.
Your name drips like soft dripping.
Do you know it Anna, do you know it already?
You can be read back to front too, and you, you most glorious
of all, you’re the same both ways: ‘a-n-n-a’.
Dripping trickles caressing over my back.
Anna Flower, you drippy creature, I love ya!

[Kurt Schwitters: 1887-1948; Dadaist artist who founded own form of Dadaism called Merz or Merzdichtung; emigrated to Norway in 1937, then to England in 1940]

~ by Peter Lach-Newinsky on August 25, 2010.

Leave a comment