Climate Chaos- the Subjective Dimension

banksy warming regent's canal london 0713
[Part of something I wrote for local consumption when global CO2 emissions passed 400 ppm last year. Image: Banksy, Regent Canal, London]

1. When I think or read about climate chaos, I feel a mixture of the following (and you?):

Anger (against the order-givers, ‘the people’, myself)

Fear (of losing the most valuable qualities of life in nature and society, for my grandson’s future)

Sorrow (at what we’ve already lost, are losing and will lose)

Despair (that it’s too late, that no one will act together to radically change the system)

Guilt (at my own over-consumption beyond my fair earth share)

Overwhelm (at the multi-levelled complexity and interdependence of all the issues and crises)

Need for Comic Relief (from the overwhelm)

Self-righteous vindication (for having preached and warned for almost 40 years)

Motivation to act (to preach, to reduce consumption, to change the system producing ecocide)

Hope (in the basic decency of almost all the humans I’ve ever met)

Joy (at being alive at this evolutionary turning point, at just living another day ‘nowever’)

Compassion (with the billions of current and future victims of climate chaos and ecocide)

2. Some of the Reasons I have Heard for Inaction on Climate Chaos (and you?)

It’s all too late, there’s no point in doing anything

‘They’ (other people) need to experience a major catastrophe first (I don’t)

Even if ‘they’ do experience a major catastrophe and act it will be too late save anything

I’ll just do my thing, live a little more simply, and wait to see what happens

It’s all too overwhelming and complicated, it’s not black and white

It’s about too many (poor) people/It’s about China and India now, not us

It’s about human greed and human stupidity (simply a given, and this will never change)

I cannot believe in a popular movement arising with a radically different narrative, one able to create a democratic post-capitalist society living within the ecological limits of the planet

I AM doing something about climate chaos: I’m using less energy, shopping wisely, voting for the carbon tax (but I also just need to fly to Nepal/Bali/Europe for a holiday tomorrow)

How many more times will you cry wolf? There’s always been a disaster around the corner.

~ by Peter Lach-Newinsky on June 9, 2014.

5 Responses to “Climate Chaos- the Subjective Dimension”

  1. I am thinking this pretty much nails every response I have come across and thought myself, at some point. Apart from an uterly frustrated tearing of the hair and never ending brutal scream.

  2. Reblogged this on nickweechblog's Blog.

  3. I find a dram of Greer or Orlov helps 😉

Leave a Reply

 
