On the Death of One of My Young Brothers

Peter Gray

On the Death of One of My Young Brothers
i.m. Peter Gray 1980-2011

Peter, I didn’t know you at all. Born
two years before my son, now
dead of bowel cancer at thirty. Know
you studied classics & wonder

whether you too might have found
the Georgics’ plod, Horace’ spring
of crystal in direct defence of forests,
feral courage chained to trees. I saw

your image for an eternal second
last October, your boot just missing
Howard’s head on Q & A, my heart

leaping & a million dead Iraqis
smiling in Paradise at this last
serene gesture of Christlike wrath.

~ by Peter Lach-Newinsky on June 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
