The Witness

Detail from Bosch's Garden of Earthly Delights

The Witness

Apart from the pulling and hauling stands what I am…
– Walt Whitman, ‘Song of Myself’

My life flew through me
like a loud white bird

clouds of people,
factories, continents
inter-were, producing
passing thunder, rain

air breathed its space in me
looking on, a mind blown
child at the circus
of its mind, my life

flew through me
like a silent black bird.

[from my latest chapbook On the Innocence of Clouds, published by Picaro Press, Wagtail Series No. 104, available for $4 at Picaro Press on the Blogroll]

~ by Peter Lach-Newinsky on March 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
