Love (W)rap

[Poem I wrote 12 years ago. Bong Bong Street is the main street of the town of Bowral, where I lived at the time. Enjoy the grandpa (w)rap, folks.]

Love (W)rap
(performance piece)

I was walkin along Bong Bong
when I thought I felt a breeze
but I wasn’t too sure
so I fell down on my knees

I looked up to the heaven
looked to the Lord above
and the Lord looked back down at me,
said: ‘Pete boy,
this is ‘bout love!

ya gotta love them traffic lights
love that stone
ya gotta love them zillion people
tryin’ to get home

ya gotta love that policeman
love that thief
ya gotta love the devil
man I’ll keep this brief:

Love is complex
Love is grand
Love is simple
Love is The Plan!’

Now I didn’t wanna hear this
to tell you the truth
I was lookin out for number one
I didn’t need no proof

that this system sucks
like an octopus on speed
that it’s dog-eat-dog
and who’s got the biggest greed

that we’re all shoppin
like there’s no tomorrow
just to fill the void
and sedate the sorrow

that it’s me against you
and you against me
we’re all workin our butts off
but do we feel free?

or that my ma put me in hospital
at the ripe ole age of one
so I cut off my fears
and I cut off my tears
till I was dead and done
dead and done
dead and done

now don’t get me wrong
I’m not blamin her
I was a sick child she loved
and she was in a stir

she lost her dad
when she was a child
then the war took her first husband
it was drivin her wild

but she suppressed her sorrows
just like my father did
but those were tough times
just to be a kid

but fear and alone-ness
is the opposite of love
so this message from the Lord
hit me like a bomb from above

it said:

‘ya gotta love them traffic lights
love that stone
ya gotta love them zillion people
tryin to get home
longing for home
longing for home

ya gotta love that policeman
love that thief
ya gotta love the devil
man I’ll keep this brief:

Love is complex
Love is grand
Love is simple
Love is The Plan
Love is The Plan
Love is The Plan

~ by peterln on July 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

